2024 Summer Reading Program

Gear up for Summer with our May Challenge!
A fun Library Centered Bingo Style Challenge!

Summer Reading Program Details

Participation
Everyone is welcome to participate.
You do not need a Kuna Library card to participate.
You do not have to sign up to participate.
You may attend one week, two weeks, or all six weeks. 

Reading Logs
Participants may complete two reading logs.
Log #1 is handed out in June. The completed log may be turned in starting July 1, 2024.
Log #2 is handed out in July. The completed log must be turned in by August 10, 2024. 

Signing Up
You may sign up anytime during the program. 
You do not have to sign up to participate in the weekly programs.
Only those who have signed up receive the at-home reading log.

Weekly Programs
Sessions are offered on Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 10:00 am – 1:00 pm.
We’ll have several activities centered around that week’s theme each week. 
The activities are the same each day but change each week. 
On Thursdays at 1:00 pm, we have a movie matinee. 

Print a Program Calendar

Summer Kickoff at Bernie Fisher Park
June 1

2024 Summer Kick-Off Event

Join us today at Bernie Fisher Park (Kuna Park) for fun summer games and activities! You can even sign up for the Summer Reading Program! 

Kick-Off
Saturday, June 1, 9:00 am – 12:00 pm

Sign-Up Week
June 3-8

2024 Summer Reading Program Sign-up Week

Come into the library and sign up for the Summer Reading Program this week, June 3-8, 2024! Those ages 0-17 who sign up this week will receive a free book!

Library Hours
Monday & Friday 9:30 am – 6 pm
Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, 9:30 am – 8 pm
Saturday 11:30 am – 4:00 pm

Week 1 A Day at the Beach
June 11 & 12

2024 Summer Reading Program Week 1, A Day at the Beach

We are kicking off our summer reading adventure with A Day at the Beach!  

Tuesday, June 11, 10:00 am – 1:00 pm
Wednesday, June 12, 10:00 am – 1:00 pm
Thursday, June 13, Movie Matinee 1:00 pm

Week 2 A Trek Through the Desert
June 18

2024 Summer Reading Program Week 2 A Trek Through the Desert

This week get ready for some heated activities as we Trek Through the Desert! 

Tuesday, June 18, 10:00 am – 1:00 pm
Wednesday, June 19, LIBRARY CLOSED
Thursday, June 20, Movie Matinee 1:00 pm

Week 3 Camping!
June 25 & 26

2024 Summer Reading Program Week 3 Caming

This week’s activities are all about camping! 

Tuesday, June 25, 10:00 am – 1:00 pm
Wednesday, June 26, 10:00 am – 1:00 pm
Thursday, June 27, Movie Matinee 1:00 pm

Week 4 Going on a Safari!
July 2 & 3

2024 Summer Reading Program Week 4 Going on Safari

This week we are Going on a Safari! 

Tuesday, July 2, 10:00 am – 1:00 pm
Wednesday, July 3, 10:00 am – 1:00 pm 
Thursday, July 4 LIBRARY CLOSED
 
Starting July 1, completed reading log #1 may be turned in.
Reading log #2 will be handed out in July.

Week 5 Welcome to Antarctica!
July 9 & 10

2024 Summer Reading Program Week 5 Welcome to Antarctica

Welcome to Antarctica!

Tuesday, July 9, 10:00 am – 1:00 pm
Wednesday, July 10, 10:00 am – 1:00 pm
Thursday, July 11, Movie Matinee 1:00 pm

Week 6 Blast off to Space!!
July 16 & 17

2024 Summer Reading Program Week 6 Blast off to Space

This week we are Blasting off to Space! 

Tuesday, July 16, 10:00 am – 1:00 pm
Wednesday, July 17, 10:00 am – 1:00 pm
Thursday, July 18, Movie Matinee 1:00 pm

End of Summer Celebration!
July 24

2024 Summer Reading Challenge, End of Summer Celebration

Join us for a fun, free carnival! We’ll have games and jump houses! 

Everyone is welcome to attend!

 
Wednesday, July 24, 9:00 am – 12:00 pm
 

Saturday, August 10, 2024
is the last day to turn in completed reading logs